Uber Accident Lawyer in Brandon, FL
As ride-sharing businesses like Lyft and Uber grow in demand in Florida, the number of injury cases involving ride-sharing vehicles rises, too. If you have been injured in a rideshare accident, it is harder for you to get compensated than in other types of car accident cases. An Uber accident lawyer can walk you through your choices and assist you in pursuing financial compensation.
We are committed to defending the legal rights of accident victims. Let us take the weight off your shoulders by hiring a legal representation for an accident settlement and get the justice you deserve. You may trust that our firm will go to court to fight for you and hold those responsible for your injuries and damages accountable.
After getting harmed in an Uber or Lyft accident, do not hesitate to call an attorney. Contact our reliable rideshare accident attorney at Golden Injury Attorneys for free initial case consultation. We are here to help you. So In this article, we will discuss all the things you need to know about the ride-sharing policies in Florida.
Big Insurance Coverage Covers Accidents for Prominent Ridesharing Corporations in Florida
A minimum level of car insurance is necessary by Florida law for all vehicle drivers. They must have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) insurance.
Florida has additional regulations that mandate rideshare drivers to have far more insurance protection than the minimum.
For property damage, physical injury, and death, rideshare drivers must have at least $1 million in insurance protection. They must also have the same PIP insurance requirements as all other drivers.
Even if an Uber or Lyft driver is not carrying a passenger, they must carry $50,000 in bodily injury or death liability insurance. This requirement applies every time a driver uses the application to search for a passenger.
Many rideshare providers willingly offer their drivers with good insurance packages. They also provide insurance to their drivers if an uninsured or underinsured driver injures them.
When a driver has a passenger or is on their way to get a passenger, the $1 million coverage applies. The reduced insurance maximums apply when the driver is looking for a passenger.
Uber Accident and Car Crash Liability Laws in Florida
Even though ride-sharing laws exist, we must not forget that Florida’s accident liability laws still govern how accident damages are compensated. If the Uber driver is at fault and you only sustain mild injuries, each driver is responsible for their injuries or damages.
Once you suffer severe damage, you can pursue legal action for a full car accident settlement outside Florida’s no-fault system. The at-fault driver is responsible for the other driver’s and passengers’ property loss.
Accidents may be complicated to understand, so you need an attorney to help you get the compensation you deserve. Please contact our trusted Brandon Uber Personal Injury & Accident Attorneys.
The Uber/Lyft Liability Insurance System
For passengers who have been affected or wounded in Uber/Lyft accidents in Florida, both companies have a similar liability coverage system. In Florida, your injury insurance will be determined by the time frame in which your accident happened. The following is Uber/Lyft’s insurance policy:
- If you’re a passenger, you may be able to get compensation from the rideshare companies – If you are a passenger in an Uber or Lyft vehicle, you can demand compensation through rideshare insurance coverage. The at-fault driver is accountable for your damages if you suffer severe injuries.
If the other driver has caused the accident, you may realize that their insurance is insufficient to cover your damages. In that event, the Uber or Lyft policy must step in to fill the gaps left by the other driver. If you are a passenger in an Uber or Lyft vehicle, rest assured that the $1 million insurance policy should protect you in practically any situation.
- Uber/Lyft vehicle operators are Insured – If you drive for Uber or Lyft, your $1 million insurance assurance insures you whenever you have a passenger or are on your way to pick up one. The rideshare company’s insurance policies may be less costly when you are not yet booked by a passenger.
Besides, if you are at fault for a car crash accident, your insurance policy may not compensate you for your losses. To verify that you have the protection you want for your rideshare business, you may examine your insurance policy and the insurance coverage provided by Ubert.
Highlighting the No-Tolerance Laws: Florida’s Way of Filtering Drivers
Under Florida’s new bill, ridesharing businesses must conduct background investigations every three years before allowing new drivers to work on their services. Companies like Uber are prohibited from “permitting an applicant to function as a ridesharing driver if:
- The applicants have been charged with Driving Under Influence (DUI), careless driving, hit-and-run, and other charges in the five (5) previous years,
- Has federal sex offender record;
- Has been charged in the last three years of driving with a suspended or banned driver’s license;
- Does not have a current driver’s license; or
- Does not have evidence that the car being used for ridesharing was legal, authorized and certified.
If the ridesharing operator fails to follow these important measures and you are injured, you may file a separate lawsuit against them. You may have a case against the firm for failing to take the required procedures to ensure the welfare of its drivers, in addition to liability for the accident itself.
Being involved in an accident may cause emotional distress, so we are here to ease your burden. Our experienced Golden Injury Attorneys can assess if this kind of liability applies to your situation.
Statute of Limitations on Brandon, FL Uber Accidents
Personal injury claims in Florida usually have a two-year limitation period. You will have two years from the accident date to hire a competent car accident lawyer to take on your case. It is extremely important to note that if you do not submit your complaint within this period, you may lose your right, and you cannot sue the ones at fault anymore. So, it is important to contact our efficient personal injury attorney today to help you with the legal processes!
Contact Our Brandon Uber Accident Lawyer Now!
If you have been hurt in an Uber or Lyft accident, you will need a reliable ridesharing accident attorney on your side to help you manage any complicated legal issues that may follow. Our lawyers can examine your case and assist you in determining who should be held liable for the damages!
Do not hesitate to call our experienced lawyers at Golden Injury Attorneys immediately for quality service and personal consultation, not just on personal injury but also on social security and workers comp.